Small Album Haul and Wish List

Hello party people, I’m Wye … welcome to the blog today.

How is everyone doing on this wonderful Wednesday?  (I won’t say hump day, but I just did-LOL) It’s been a better week this week as the last time I was bogged down with meetings and doing website work simultaneously.  I can multi-task but I feel like the quality of my diminishes with the number of tasks I take on.

So moving on…

Today I’m sharing my small album haul and wish list. If you’ve been following the blog (for a while) you know I love my music.  However, I have a special love for vinyl.  It’s an acquired taste (so to speak).  Most folks download their music and don’t want the clutter of CDs or anything, but I’ve had the same vinyl records (33″ and 45’s”) since I was younger.  They are scratched and worn but they still play.

Ok, I know your asking…[hold up], what are 33s” and 45s”?

Vinyl records come in three speeds: 33 1/3 rpm (often just called a “33”), 45 rpm and 78 rpm. The “rpm” is an abbreviation for “revolutions per minute” — an indication of how fast the record is meant to spin on the turntable. (Source: Yamaha Music)

A few years ago I started collecting again because I found this cool record shop in my area so I started building up my jazz section.  But jazz isn’t the only music I listen to.  I love erry-thing, but I haven’t been able to get out and really visit any shops. Hopefully, I’ll be able to soon. Right now Amazon and Target have been good sources, but the prices are higher than your corner record store.

Here’s What I Got!

Queen’s Greatest Hits

Greatest Hits is a compilation album by the British rock band Queen, released worldwide on 26 October 1981. The album consisted of Queen’s biggest hits since their first chart appearance in 1974 with “Seven Seas of Rhye”, up to their 1980 hit “Flash” (though in some countries “Under Pressure”, the band’s 1981 chart-topper with David Bowie, was included). There was no universal track listing or cover art for the album, and each territory’s tracks were dependent on what singles had been released there and which were successful. In 1992, the US version of the album Classic Queen was released following the band’s rekindled popularity in the nation.


Disc 1 [SIDE A]
1. Bohemian Rhapsody
2. Another One Bites The Dust
3. Killer Queen
4. Fat Bottomed Girls

Disc 1 [SIDE B]
1. Bicycle Race
2. You’re My Best Friend
3. Don’t Stop Me Now
4. Save Me

Disc 2 [SIDE C]
1. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
2. Somebody To Love
3. Now I’m Here
4. Good Old-Fashioned Lover Boy

Disc 2 [SIDE D]
1. Play The Game
2. Flash
3. Seven Seas of Rhye
4. We Will Rock You
5. We Are The Champions

Stranger Things…Music from the Netflix Original Series

Stranger Things: Music from the Netflix Original Series contains songs from Seasons 1 & 2! The album features nineteen songs and eleven audio clips from the show. Stranger Things is an American science fiction-horror web television series created, written, directed, and co-executive produced by The Duffer Brothers, as well as co-executive produced by Shawn Levy and Dan Cohen.


Disc 1 [Side 1]
1. INTRO – Will Singing the Clash, Will Byers
2. Every Breath You Take, The Police
3. Should I Stay or Should I Go (Remastered), The Clash
4. ‘Coffee and contemplation’ Jim Hopper
5. Hazy Shade of Winter, The Bangles
6. Nocturnal Me Echo & The Bunnymen
7. ‘Bring him home!’, Joyce Byers
8. Sunglasses at Night, Corey Hart

Disc 1 [Side 2]
1. Girls On Film, Duran Duran
2. ‘Just because people tell you…’ Jonathan Byers
3. Atmosphere Joy, Division
4. ‘Maybe I’m crazy…’ Joyce Byers
5. Twist of Fate, Olivia Newton-John
6. ‘Says logic’ Mike & Dustin
7. The Ghost in You, The Psychedelic Furs
8. Africa, Toto

Disc 2 [Side 1]
1. You Don’t Mess Around With Jim, Jim Croce
2. ‘Accident or not’, Dustin & Lucas
3. Whip It, Devo
4. Runaway, Bon Jovi
5. Time After Time, Cyndi Lauper
6. Talking In Your Sleep, The Romantics

Disc 2 [Side 2]
1. ‘Mouthbreather’, Mike & Eleven
2. Back to Nature, Fad Gadget
3. ‘She’s our friend and she’s crazy!’, Dustin
4. Rock You Like a Hurricane, Scorpions
5. Heroes, Peter Gabriel
6. ‘Friends don’t lie’, Eleven
7. Elegia, New Order
8. OUTRO – Will Singing the Clash, Will Byers

What’s Your Pleasure, Jesse Ware

Jessie Ware’s fourth studio album, What’s Your Pleasure? … shows the influential artist reconnect with her roots, entirely on her own terms. The recording process was a transformative period for Ware. `What’s Your Pleasure?’ at its core explores themes of femininity, freedom of imagination, and escapism. Featuring the recent hit single, `Spotlight’. (Source: Amazon)

Jesse Ware Vinyl


Disc 1 [SIDE A]
1. Spotlight
2. What’s Your Pleasure
3. Ooh La La
4. Soul Control
5. Save a Kiss
6. Adore You

Disc 1 [SIDE B]
1. In Your Eyes
2. Step Into My Life
3. Read My Lips
4. Mirage (Don’t Stop)
5. The Kill
6. Remember Where You Are

Back in the day, I would buy at least two albums every other week, but nowadays my collection is more purposeful since I have a music streaming service and Amazon.  I can listen to anything in the catalog which is convenient. I also don’t want to amass a lot of clutter, and my current space has room for just a few more. I’m also looking into another stereo but that’s for later, as it’s in investment.

What’s on My Wishlist?

The Time, Double Vinyl
The Best of Sade, Sade
The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill, Lauryn Hill
Ultimate Sinatra
The Lost Boys, Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Mezzanine, Massive Attack

Thanks so much for visiting the blog today, and this random post. (LOL) What are you listening to right now?  Feel free to share it in the comments.  Don’t forget to follow the blog and like this post. Until next time … have a great day! — Peace —

Header Photo by Kenneth Carpina from Pexels